Ben Pollock Elected NSNC President

Ben Pollock

Ben Pollock
, who writes Brick on in Fayetteville, Ark., was elected President of the National Society of Newspaper Columnists at the closing session of the annual conference at Bloomington, Ind., Sunday, July 11. Pollock, who was Vice President, has served as Archivist and Secretary. He is a copy editor and page designer for the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette.

As Vice President, members elected Karen Rinehart, a Charlotte, N.C., area syndicated columnist, author and speaker. She was unable to attend the conference because of a speaking engagement in Washington, D.C.

Three incumbent officers — Newsletter Editor Robert Haught, Web Editor Sheila Moss and Education Chair Russell Frank — were re-elected for two-year terms.

Mike Deupree, retired Cedar Rapids (Iowa) Gazette columnist, was elected Contest Chair for a one-year term, succeeding Cynthia Borris, San Lorenzo, Calif., who became Membership Chair after Dan St. Yves, Calgary, Alberta, resigned.

Wayne Chan of Poway, Calif., was elected to fill the remaining year of the two-year term for Secretary, succeeding Linda Caillouet of Little Rock, AR. The board appointed Brian O’Connor of the Detroit News as 2011 Conference Chair.

The 2010-2011 NSNC Board of Directors is as follows:

President – Ben Pollock, Fayetteville, AR, independent blog-columnist
Vice President – Karen Rinehart, Charlotte, NC area, syndicated columnist
Secretary – Wayne Chan, San Diego, CA, self-syndicated
Treasurer – Laura Snyder, Whispering Pines, NC, Laura on Life
Newsletter Editor – Robert Haught, Madison, VA, Haughtline Dweethly
Web Editor – Sheila Moss, Nashville, TN, self-syndicated
Archivist – Dave Astor, Montclair, NJ, The Montclair Times
Contest Chair – Mike Deupree, Solon, IA, Cedar Rapids Gazette (ret.)
Education Chair – Russell Frank, State College, PA, Pennsylvania State University
Membership Chair – Cynthia Borris, San Lorenzo, CA, freelance
Past President – Samantha Bennett, Pittsburgh, PA, American Economic Review
2011 Conference Chair – Brian O’Connor, Detroit, MI, Detroit News

Executive Director – Luenna Kim, San Francisco, CA
Lifetime Director of Fun – Diane Ketcham, Naples, FL, The New York Times (ret)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email