NSNC 2010 Contest Winners


The night arrived and on a summer’s eve in Bloomington the NSNC 2010 contest winners were announced.

For those who were not able to attend, myself included, I wanted to personally share the great news with each of you. — Cynthia Borris, 2010 NSNC Contest Chair

General Interest Greater than 100,000 Circulation

1st place: Tom Rademacher, The Grand Rapids (Mich.) Press
2nd place: Norris Burkes, Gannett News Service
3rd place: Peg McEntee, The Salt Lake (Utah) Tribune
Honorable mention: Stu Bykofsky, Philadelphia Daily News

Humor Greater than 100,000 Circulation

1st place: Stu Bykofsky, Philadelphia Daily News
2nd place: Samantha Bennett, Pittsburg Post-Gazette
3rd place: Charles Memminger, Honolulu Advertiser
Honorable mentions: Terry Marotta, self-syndicated, and Jim Shea, The Hartford (Conn.) Courant

General Interest under 100,000 Circulation

1st place: Sarah Fenske, Phoenix New Times
2nd place: Patricia Calhoun, Westword, Denver
3rd place: Leanne Libby, Corpus Christi (Texas) Caller-Times
Honorable mention: Ed Grismore, The Telegraph, Macon, Ga.

Humor under 100,000 Circulation

1st place: Jeff Girod, Inland Empire Weekly, Corona, Calif.
2nd place: Karen Rinehart, Independent Tribune, Kannapolis, N.C.
3rd place: Mark O’Brien, Pensacola (Fla.) News Journal
Honorable mentions: Trisha Blanchet, The Sun, Lowell, Mass., and Bill Nash, Ventura County (Calif.) Star

Online Column

1st place: Donna Terek, The Detroit News
2nd place: Russell Frank. StateCollege.com, State College, Pa.
3rd place: Joel Schwartzberg, The Star-Ledger, Newark, N.J.

Blog Column

1st place: Roger Ebert, Chicago Sun-Times
2nd place: Mary Curtis, AOL PoliticsDaily.com
3rd place: Joanne Salemink, sandwichmomonwry.blogspot.com
Honorable mentions: John Boston, thebostonreport.net, and Maggie Van Ostrand, huffingtonpost.com and texasescapes.com

Herb Caen Memorial Award (notes/items)

1st place: Michael McIntyre, The Plain Dealer, Cleveland
2nd place: Smiley Anders, The Advocate, Baton Rouge, La.
3rd place: Bob Dyer, Akron (Ohio) Beacon Journal
Honorable mentions: Ed Addeo, Marinscope, Marin County, Calif., and
Russ Lemmon, Press Journal, Vero Beach, Fla.

A limited number of the winning columns have now been posted.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email