Nominations for Board announced

The 2011 Nominations Committee announced a slate of excellent candidates to present in Detroit for a vote of the NSNC membership at its annual meeting June 26. Members will vote for five officers, who will serve two-year terms and are members of the Board of Directors. In addition, a nominee will be elected to serve the remaining one year of the unexpired office of Vice President due to the resignation of the incumbent.

Incumbents, seeking re-election
Archivist – Dave Astor
Contest Chair – Mike Deupree
Secretary – Wayne Chan

Membership Chair – Rose A. Valenta
Treasurer – Jim Casto
Vice President (one-year interim) – Larry Cohen

Here’s a bit about the new nominees:

Rose A. Valenta wrote for a subsidiary of McGraw-Hill for 12 years, as a technical staff writer and freelanced for other industry publications. She took creative writing courses at Delaware Technical College. Many of her articles are syndicated at Senior Wire and Associated Content/Yahoo News, and have appeared in USA TODAY,, The Courier Post, The Wall Street Journal, and other publications.

Jim Casto retired in 2004 from The Herald-Dispatch, Huntington, W.VA, where he was a reporter and editor for more than 40 years. He is now senior public information specialist at the Robert C. Byrd Institute for Advanced Flexible Manufacturing. Active in community affairs in Huntington, he has numerous years of service to the local library and has written many books and publications about the local area. Jim has taught both journalism and English as a part-time instructor at Marshall University.

Laurence D. Cohen is a former reporter, editor and member of the Hartford Courant’s editorial board. His column appear in the Hartford Courant. He is a former president of the Connecticut Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists, and the Connecticut Valley Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America. He served as special assistant to former Connecticut Gov. John Rowland. He has taught at the University of Connecticut, Central Connecticut State University, Albertus Magnus College, and at the University of Hartford.

Thanks to the nominating committee for their service. Committee members were Samantha Bennett, Mike Leonard, Dave Lieber, Bill Tammeus, Suzette Standring and Ben Pollock. Description of the offices may be found in Article 8 of the NSNC Bylaws, which are on the website.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email