2015 Contest’s Winning Columns

With the 2016 column contest of the National Society of Newspaper Columnists now open, writers interested in submitting three pieces they published or posted in 2015 might find insight from the first-place entries from the previous year.

Following are links to the winning columns of the six 2015 winners in the annual contest of the National Society of Newspaper Columnists. Each entrant was required to submit three columns originally published in calendar 2014.

Contest A: General Interest, Over 50,000 Circulation — Dave Lieber and Marina Trahan Martinez, The Dallas Morning News

Contest B: Humor, Over 50,000 Circulation — Betsy Bitner, Times Union, Albany, New York

Contest C: General Interest, Under 50,000 Circulation — Amanda Beam, News and Tribune, Jeffersonville, Indiana

Contest D: Humor, Under 50,000 Circulation — Roger Simon, Politico

Contest E: Online, Blog, Multimedia, Over 100,000 Unique Visitors — Michael Daly, The Daily Beast

Contest F: Online, Blog, Multimedia, Under 100,000 Unique Visitors — Jennifer Munro, Straight-no-Chaser Mom

Print Friendly, PDF & Email