NSNC Education Foundation | Scholarship

About the National Society of Newspaper Columnists Education Foundation

Image of the 2016 entry form for the NSNC Education Foundation scholarship contest

Click for the PDF of the 2016 entry form for the columnist scholarship contest.

The NSNC Education Foundation is a tax-exempt non-profit foundation [501(c)3] devoted to the education and training of new and experienced columnists everywhere. The foundation was incorporated in 2003 in the state of Texas.

The NSNCEF awards annual scholarships to three outstanding student newspaper columnists who write for U.S. college or university undergraduate newspapers. First prize is $1,000. Second- and third-place finalists are selected and receive certificates. Contributions to the NSNCEF are welcome. Funds go toward helping train columnists. (Here is a list of previous recipients and also a link to articles about the foundation and scholarship program.)

Students: Click for a PDF of the 2016 entry form of the scholarship contest. Deadline is March 30, 2016.

The core mission of the Education Foundation is to foster training opportunities for columnists and others interested in column writing. The foundation works with the National Society of Newspaper Columnists and others to serve as a training tool for both aspiring and published columnists in all media. The foundation’s special emphasis has been on helping assist college columnists.

Poster for NSNC's 2016 College Columnist Scholarship

Click for a PDF of this flyer Distribute to college columnists!

In February 2012, the Education Foundation board, with the endorsement of the NSNC board, named the scholarship the Jeff Zaslow College Columnist Award. It honors the memory of the best-selling author and Wall Street Journal columnist, who died that month in an auto accident at the age of 53. First place is the Jeff Zaslow College Columnist Award winner.

In November 2012, the Education Foundation board named the second-place award in this contest the Laurence Cohen Presidential Award. Larry Cohen, elected NSNC president in May 2012, died the following August of a heart attack at age 64.

The contest for the Jeff Zaslow College Columnist Award is open to undergraduates (including seniors) who write bylined general interest, editorial-page or specialized (humor, sports, business, arts etc.) columns that are published in the print or online editions of college newspapers, i.e., one whose main circulation is on a university or college campus. There is no entry fee. Multiple entries from campus papers are welcomed, but only one entry for each student newspaper columnist is permitted.


Donations are welcome. Please use the secure PayPal button, above. Or checks may be mailed to:

NSNC Education Foundation
c/o Luenna Kim, Executive Director
P.O. Box 411532
San Francisco, CA 94141

For more information about the Zaslow scholarship, contact NSNC Scholarship Chair Mike Leonard by email at michael.leonard@comcast.net.

Jim Casto, president
Tracy Beckerman, vice president
Dave Lieber, secretary
Joe Blundo, treasurer
Dr. Amy Reynolds, assistant secretary/treasurer

Print Friendly